"MLA West Midlands is working for the region to promote and develop excellent museum, library and archive services which are available to everyone, today and in the future.

We will do this by supporting and championing the development of museums, libraries and archives, to encourage them to inspire, enrich and record the life, environment and works of all its people and to enhance the cultural, social, educational and economic life of the region."

The Board

The Board of MLA West Midlands has been constituted to ensure that there is a balance between the three domains. Its members will bring necessary skills and be active ambassadors for the sector in a variety of different networks. As Directors and Trustees they are responsible for the running of the company limited by guarantee with charitable status. Board Members may be contacted first through the MLA general address -

Appointed by Name Designation

West Midlands Regional Archives Council David Owen Company Director
Marilyn Lewis Assistant Director, Cultural Services,
Shropshire CC
Roger Vaughan Arts and Heritage Officer, Coventry MBC

Society of Chief Librarians WM Olivia Spencer

County Librarian, Staffordshire CC

Chartered Institute of Library & Information Professionals Kate Millin Assistant Head of Libraries, Dudley MBC

West Midlands Higher Education Association (Libraries Group) Pat Noon University Librarian, Coventry University

West Midlands Local Government Association Carl Rice Birmingham CC Councillor
Peter Phillips Shropshire County Councillor
Adrian Gregson Worcester City Councillor

West Midlands Higher Education Association Prof Judith Elkin Vice Principal, University College Worcester
Association of Independent Museums Glen Lawes Chief Executive, Ironbridge Gorge Museums Trust
Midlands Federation of Museums & Galleries David de Haan Deputy Director, Ironbridge Gorge Museums Trust
Museum Hub WM Graham Allen Senior Assistant Director, Museums and Heritage Projects, Birmingham CC

Public Advertisement Michael Messenger Retired (County Librarian and Arts Officer, Hereford and Worcester CC)
Sarah Campbell Chief Cultural Services Officer, Wolverhampton
Peter Vigurs Retired (Leisure and Cultural Serives Director, Stoke-on-Trent)
Jerry Murland Head Teacher, The Meadows School, Coventry

Contact Us
The Board

MLA West Midlands is supported and core funded by Resource: The Council for Museums, Archives and Libraries. 16 Queen Annes Gate London SW1H 9AA email

MLA West Midlands is a Private Company Limited by Guarantee. Charity No: 513708.